A picture’s worth…

Interesting post from HubSpot about marketing content to people through mobile formats. Apparently, there are supposed to be about 20 million more smartphone users added in the next two years, another (about) 20 million more tablet users and 13 million more people who start using ereaders. Jeebus.

The next part of the post, the segment that really drew my attention, discusses media consumption. It’s an old saw among marketing and PR types among any content producers, really, that people like different types of content and most people like media more than text. The post on HubSpot, if you ain’t clicked over, recommends ebooks, cartoons, videos infographics and podcasts as a way to attract eyeballs. I think that’s all spot on. As one person in my new media class (can’t remember if it was the prof. or guest speaker) reminded us, people love Facebook because they can look at pictures.

So, what interests me about all this? The fact that I’m not like other people. I can’t recall the statistics but the numbers about the percentage of people who view a page’s content and stay on that page when there’s a video vs. text really is startling.

But I don’t do that. At all. I want writing. Often times, I don’t watch videos, which is in part because I do so much reading in class and can’t have audio, but also because that’s how I’m used to consuming news. I listened to Driftglass‘ podcast with Blue Gal once, and I did like it, but I just haven’t made a habit of consuming those. I don’t wanna listen to podcasts when I go to the gym or go back and forth to class. I want music.

This tendency interests me because although I consume news online, which is certainly “new” compared to how my parents get their news, I’m still incredibly old-fashioned and outdated in that I really want text. Writing is what draws my attention, informs me and sticks with me. It’s not that I don’t like videos and I like cartoons, because I do, but when I get on the ‘toobz, and especially into my RSS reader, I’m there to get through my reading for the day. And there’s a lot of reading, which is why I’ll scan past the cartoons and infographics (some of which can be really expansive and time-consuming) and skip the videos.

Seth Godin had a post up the same day that makes me feel the same way. Seth ends his post like this:

We shouldn’t be surprised when someone chooses to publish their photos, their words, their art or their opinions. We should be surprised when they don’t.

Yeah, see, I don’t. Or, at least, I can be very reluctant to do so. I didn’t put any of these posts up on Facebook when this blog was a school project because, to me, that feels too much like push communication. I’ve got no problem pushing at people if I’m obligated to do it for a company as long as the product or service is also beneficial for the consumer. That’s less marketing than it is raising awareness. But overall, for personal stuff, I tend to sit on that stuff. Not something that I expect of other people, but that’s my tendency*.

It’s a strange position to be in, knowing that if I do marketing or even agency work that I’m tailoring my labor towards people with radically different consumption and expression habits than my own, but I don’t think I’ll have any trouble getting used to it. It’s not too hard for me, I think, to get inside the head of people who pay little or no attention to politics when I read about the subject for at least a couple hours a day. Hell, that’ll probably end up being good practice.

And… uh… if you read this far, here’s an awesome Wu-Tang song.

*… except for this blog, I guess.

Leave a Reply

